Books · International · Preview

Preview | The Best in Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Before I Fall is a perennial bestseller and continues to be on several young-adult ‘best book’ lists. The film adaptation of the story, directed by Ry Russo-Young and starring several popular teen actors, will be released in early 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5hIJsdIQCc The protagonist, Samantha Kingston, has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should…… Continue reading Preview | The Best in Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · Preview

January Picks: Five New Books by Indian Writers You Need to Read

Attendant Lords | T.C.A. Raghavan Bairam Khan and his son, Abdur Rahim Khan-i-Khanan were soldiers, poets and courtiers whose lives reflected the turbulent times they lived in. In telling their stories, Attendant Lords spans the reigns of four emperors—Babur, Humayun, Akbar and Jahangir—and covers over a hundred years of Mughal history, a time when these…… Continue reading January Picks: Five New Books by Indian Writers You Need to Read

Books · Editors' Desks · Interviews

‘A writer’s ability to create literature is a gift that he is born with’

It’s 1510. The Portuguese arrive in Goa armed with guns, swords and crucifixes to the agricultural village of Adolshi, where Hindus have been living peacefully. A sense of foreboding fills them as tigers prowl, cow bones appear in wells, chariot wheels break on festival day. The Portuguese king has licensed Jesuits to take over and…… Continue reading ‘A writer’s ability to create literature is a gift that he is born with’

Books · International · Preview · Uncategorized

International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7yKLHjuf2c Available here: http://amzn.to/2jaJBeK Mark Manson makes the argument, backed both by academic research and well-timed poop jokes, that improving our lives hinges not on our ability to turn lemons into lemonade, but on learning to stomach…… Continue reading International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Asides · Editors' Desks

10 Tweets That Prove Rishi Kapoor Is The King of Sass

Rishi Kapoor’s Twitter bio reads: ‘Son of a famous Father-Father of a famous Son. I am the hyphen in between them.’ It is not just his bio that’s refreshingly different, his tweets too are a little hatke. He has strong opinions and he definitely does not shy away from airing them khullam khulla, much like his bestselling autobiography.…… Continue reading 10 Tweets That Prove Rishi Kapoor Is The King of Sass

Editors' Desks · Inside HarperCollins India

Staff Picks: The Best of Books, Film & TV

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5LKs6LlsPQ Paranoia Agent: Spanning over thirteen episodes, this anime series follows the intersecting lives of many individuals in central Tokyo, all of whom become victims of a mysterious street assailant. A typical Satoshi Kon story, the series is made more dark and suspenseful with music by Susumu Hirasawa (who collaborated with Kon in Paprika). Also,…… Continue reading Staff Picks: The Best of Books, Film & TV

Uncategorized

Day Five: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

23 January, Monday 10-11 a.m. | Front Lawn | Indian Films and the National Narrative Rachel Dwyer, Imtiaz Ali, Javed Akhtar and Sudhir Mishra in conversation with Shubhra Gupta Indian cinema and Bollywood is a key cultural signifier reflecting the social, political and economic dynamics of a diverse country. A stimulating session that deconstructs the…… Continue reading Day Five: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day Four: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

22 January, Sunday 10-11 a.m. | Baithak | Channeling Creativity | Christopher Merrill, Karim Alrawi, Kyoko Yoshida, Natasa Duruvicova and Vivek Shanbhag in conversation with Chandrahas Choudhury Can creativity be primed? How is self-expression disciplined into meaningful writing? The International Writing Program at the University of Iowa is a much-celebrated creative writing residency. For more…… Continue reading Day Four: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day Three: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

21 January, Saturday 10-11 a.m. | Durbar Hall | The Tartan Turban: A Scots-American at Ranjit Singh’s Court | John Keay introduced by William Dalrymple Famously portrayed in 1864 dressed in a tartan suit with a splendid matching turban, Alexander Gardner was a 19th century Scots-American traveller, adventurer and mercenary who lived a life many…… Continue reading Day Three: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day Two: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

20 January, Friday 10-11 a.m. | Cox & Kings Charbagh | Suspected Poetry | Gulzar and Pavan K. Varma in conversation Two suspicious men reading suspected poetry. Gulzar and Pavan K. Varma in a session of readings and musings on poetry and the state of the world. 11.15-12.15 p.m. | Mughal Tent | The Heart Has…… Continue reading Day Two: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017