Books · Preview

February: Check Out Our Best in Indian Fiction and Non-fiction

What makes a nation great? Is it simply economic prosperity and military strength – or something more? It is only a matter of time before India is termed economically developed. But a nation has to learn to survive in tough times too. And for that what is most important is national character, born out of…… Continue reading February: Check Out Our Best in Indian Fiction and Non-fiction

Asides · Editors' Desks · Video

Staff Picks: The Best of Books, Film & TV

‘Living the Dream: The Life of the ‘Bollywood’ Actor by New York-based actor-photographer Mark Bennington (who also played Deputy Commissioner Wilkie in Dibakar Banerjee’s Detective Byomkesh Bakshy) is a coffee table book every movie buff must have. It shows a range of actors—from strugglers to A-list celebs—behind the scenes, doing everyday things as they go…… Continue reading Staff Picks: The Best of Books, Film & TV

Interviews · Longreads · Trade

For books to sell, the desire to read needs to be created: Gaurav Sabharwal, Prakash Books

Book distributors are crucial in the supply chain of books from publishers to readers. Gaurav Sabharwal steers Prakash Books, one of India’s leading distributors of trade fiction and non-fiction. With offices in Daryaganj, the heart of the books’ business in northern India, he has witnessed a sea of changes in the business over the past…… Continue reading For books to sell, the desire to read needs to be created: Gaurav Sabharwal, Prakash Books

Book Excerpts · Longreads

How Lata Mangeshkar Became the Queen of Indian Concerts Abroad

One day some concert organizers came to my father and asked if they could hold a jalsa where my father Deenanath Mangeshkar, a celebrated classical singer, would perform. I was standing nearby and overheard the conversation. I said, ‘Baba, I want to sing too.’ ‘What will you sing?’ he asked. ‘You taught me Raga Khambavati,…… Continue reading How Lata Mangeshkar Became the Queen of Indian Concerts Abroad

Asides · Editors' Desks · International · Video

Oscar Fever: Ten Books That Inspired Great Movies

1. Rope Burns: Stories from the Corner | F.X. Toole https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_RsHRmIRBY This hard-hitting collection of powerful and moving tales based on the experiences of the late, great fight manager and cut man Jerry Boyd, who wrote under the pen name F.X. Toole, is the basis for the Oscar-winning motion picture starring Hilary Swank and Morgan…… Continue reading Oscar Fever: Ten Books That Inspired Great Movies

Books · International · Preview

Preview | The Best in Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Before I Fall is a perennial bestseller and continues to be on several young-adult ‘best book’ lists. The film adaptation of the story, directed by Ry Russo-Young and starring several popular teen actors, will be released in early 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5hIJsdIQCc The protagonist, Samantha Kingston, has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should…… Continue reading Preview | The Best in Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · Preview

January Picks: Five New Books by Indian Writers You Need to Read

Attendant Lords | T.C.A. Raghavan Bairam Khan and his son, Abdur Rahim Khan-i-Khanan were soldiers, poets and courtiers whose lives reflected the turbulent times they lived in. In telling their stories, Attendant Lords spans the reigns of four emperors—Babur, Humayun, Akbar and Jahangir—and covers over a hundred years of Mughal history, a time when these…… Continue reading January Picks: Five New Books by Indian Writers You Need to Read

Books · Editors' Desks · Interviews

‘A writer’s ability to create literature is a gift that he is born with’

It’s 1510. The Portuguese arrive in Goa armed with guns, swords and crucifixes to the agricultural village of Adolshi, where Hindus have been living peacefully. A sense of foreboding fills them as tigers prowl, cow bones appear in wells, chariot wheels break on festival day. The Portuguese king has licensed Jesuits to take over and…… Continue reading ‘A writer’s ability to create literature is a gift that he is born with’

Books · International · Preview · Uncategorized

International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7yKLHjuf2c Available here: http://amzn.to/2jaJBeK Mark Manson makes the argument, backed both by academic research and well-timed poop jokes, that improving our lives hinges not on our ability to turn lemons into lemonade, but on learning to stomach…… Continue reading International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Asides · Editors' Desks

10 Tweets That Prove Rishi Kapoor Is The King of Sass

Rishi Kapoor’s Twitter bio reads: ‘Son of a famous Father-Father of a famous Son. I am the hyphen in between them.’ It is not just his bio that’s refreshingly different, his tweets too are a little hatke. He has strong opinions and he definitely does not shy away from airing them khullam khulla, much like his bestselling autobiography.…… Continue reading 10 Tweets That Prove Rishi Kapoor Is The King of Sass