Books · International · Preview

Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

newsletter March

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting—perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies—Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. By the end of the book—a mash-up of essays, lists, and artwork—you’ll have learned not only how to dress yourself, how to travel alone, how to talk to strangers online, and how to date strangers (in PERSON!), but also how to pass as a real, functioning, appropriately socialized adult.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2ouEynt


newsletter March2

In We Should All be Feminists, her eloquently argued and much admired essay of 2014,  Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie proposed that if we want a fairer world we need to raise our  sons and daughters differently. Here, in this remarkable new book, Adichie replies by letter to a friend’s request for help on how to bring up her newborn baby girl as a feminist. With its fifteen pieces of practical advice it goes right to the heart of sexual politics in the twenty-first  century.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2nIi7xT


newsletter March3

Hilarious and heartwarming, an east-meets-west novel for fans of THE LITTLE COFFEE SHOP OF KABUL.

When Nikki takes a creative writing job at her local temple, with visions of emancipating the women of the community she left behind as a self-important teenager, she’s shocked to discover a group of barely literate women who have no interest in her ideals. Yet to her surprise, the white dupatta of the widow hides more than just their modesty – these are women who have spent their lives in the shadows of fathers, brothers and husbands; being dutiful, raising children and going to temple, but whose inner lives are as rich and fruitful as their untold stories. But as they begin to open up to each other about womanhood, sexuality, and the dark secrets within the community, Nikki realises that the illicit nature of the class may place them all in danger.

East meets west and tradition clashes with modernity in a thought-provoking cross-cultural novel that might make you look again at the women in your life…

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2ouxqHL


newsletter March4

A breathtaking and beautiful exploration of our planet, this groundbreaking  book accompanies the BBC One TV series, providing the deepest answers  to the simplest questions. 

‘What is motion?’, ‘Why is every snowflake different?’, ‘Why is life symmetrical?’ To answer these and many other questions, Professor Brian Cox uncovers some of the most extraordinary natural events on Earth and in the Universe. Forces of Nature takes you to the great plains of the Serengeti, the volcanoes of Indonesia and the precipitous cliffs in Nepal, to the humpback whales of the Caribbean and the  northern lights of the Arctic. Brian will answer questions on Earth that will illuminate our understanding of the Universe.

Think you know our planet?  Think again.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2nI4U8x


newsletter March5

A generations expert teams up with his seventeen-year-old son to introduce the next    influential demographic group to join the work force—Generation Z—in this essential study, the first on the subject.

They were born between between 1995 and 2012. At 72.8 million strong, Gen Z is about to make its presence known in the workplace in a major way—and employers need to understand the differences that set them apart. They’re radically different than the Millennials and yet no one seems to be talking about them—until now. This generation has an entirely different perspective on careers and how to succeed in the work force. Gen Z @ Work is essential reading for managers, marketers, and human resource leaders looking to understand the newest generation to join the workforce—as well as Millennials, Gen X, and even Baby Boomers who will be their colleagues.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2o75PA7


newsletter March6

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust? Our keys. Our friend’s birthdays. Our anniversaries. But could forgetting one little thing lead to murder? B.A. Paris, the bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors , returns with another page turner.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2nIlTav


newsletter March7

A body has been found in a frozen lake, bringing a gruesome act of evil into the light.

One look at the victim is enough for DCI Claire Winters to recognize the work of a warped mind. And when another woman is reported missing, Claire’s worst fears are confirmed: this is a killer who plans to strike again. As the body count rises, the pressure is on for Claire to find the perpetrator and bring them to justice. But first, she must learn to understand the twisted mind behind the crimes. And that will take her to a darker place than she ever thought possible.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2mMB4QT


newsletter March8

In a triumphant return to his much-loved Courtney series, Wilbur Smith introduces us to the bravest new member of the famed family, Saffron Courtney. Saffron grows up on a sprawling Kenyan country estate, under the watchful eye of her father, prominent businessman and distinguished war veteran Leon Courtney. Her life is idyllic and sheltered until a family tragedy forces her to grow up much faster than necessary—as she becomes a young woman her ambitions lead her to England for an education while her stubbornness and resilience draw her inevitably towards the complicated political machinations developing in the lead-up to WWII. Gerhard von Meerbach is the privileged and idealistic younger brother of Konrad von Meerbach, heir to the Meerbach Motor Works, and vocal supporter of Germany’s National Socialist Party and Hitler’s racial ideology. Gerhard struggles to stay true to his principles in an increasingly cruel world headed towards war. His friendship with a Jewish man puts him in a dangerous position, living as he does under the scrutinising gaze of the Gestapo. As the Second World War looms over them all, Saffron and Gerhard’s worlds collide—but will there be more to unite them than tear them apart?

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2outOFt


newsletter March9

Perfect for fans of Sheryl Sandberg, Arianna Huffington, Lena Dunham, Caitlin Moran

‘Imagine a sisterhood – across all creeds and cultures. An unspoken   agreement that we, as women, will support and encourage one another…’ 

So begins WE: an inspiring, empowering and provocative manifesto for change. Change   which we can all effect, one woman at a time. Change which provides a crucial and timely   antidote to the ‘have-it-all’ Superwoman culture and instead focuses on what will make each and every one of us happier and more free.

An inspirational and practical book for women who want to change their lives and find inner freedom: WE uses ideas and principles that have been taught by sages, saints, and accomplished people through the ages. It combines practical, psychological, and spiritual tools to create a personalized guide to finding a path into yourself and outward into the world.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2ouhe9l


newsletter March10

Nicholas Reynolds, a former CIA officer and curator of the CIA Museum unveils the shocking, untold story of Nobel Prize-winning author Ernest Hemingway’s secret life as a spy for both the Americans and the Soviets before and during World War II. A unique portrait as fast-paced and exciting as the best espionage thrillers, Writer, Sailor, Soldier, Spy illuminates a hidden side of a revered artist.

Buy it here: http://amzn.to/2oumNF1

One thought on “Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s