Books · International · Preview

April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

newsletter 9

The Case for Impeachment offers a fascinating look at presidential impeachments throughout American history, including the often-overlooked story of Andrew Johnson’s impeachment, details about Richard Nixon’s resignation, and Bill Clinton’s hearings. Lichtman shows how US President Donald Trump exhibits many of the flaws (and more) that have doomed past presidents. As the Nixon Administration dismissed the reporting of Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein as ‘character assassination’ and ‘a vicious abuse of the journalistic process,’ Trump has attacked the ‘dishonest media,’ claiming, ‘the press should be ashamed of themselves.’

The world wants to know where the United States is headed. Lichtman argues, with clarity and power, that for Donald Trump’s presidency, smoke has become fire.

Buy it here: Alan J. Lichtman’s The Case for Impeachmenthttp://amzn.to/2paQRbQ


newsletter 7

The story of many lives haunted by one family’s loss. 

Midwinter in the early years of this century. A teenage girl on holiday has gone missing in the hills at the heart of England. The villagers are called up to join the search, fanning out across the moors as the police set up roadblocks and a crowd of news reporters descends on their usually quiet home.

Meanwhile, there is work that must still be done: cows milked, fences repaired, stone cut, pints poured, beds made, sermons written, a pantomime rehearsed. The search for the missing girl goes on, but so does everyday life. As it must. As the seasons unfold there are those who leave the village and those who are pulled back; those who come together or break apart. There are births and deaths; secrets kept and exposed; livelihoods made and lost; small kindnesses and unanticipated betrayals. Bats hang in the eaves of the church and herons stand sentry in the river; field-fares flock in the hawthorn trees and badgers and foxes prowl deep in the woods – mating and fighting, hunting and dying.

An extraordinary novel of cumulative power and grace, Reservoir 13 explores the rhythms of the natural world and the repeated human gift for violence, unfolding over thirteen years as the aftershocks of a stranger’s tragedy refuse to subside.

Buy it here: Jon McGregor’s Reservoir 13http://amzn.to/2poLqEq


newsletter 10

In this thoughtful, illuminating book, James E. Ryan builds upon his wildly popular and  universally praised address which has been viewed more than four million  times online. Wait, What? is the perfect gift for graduates of all levels, and offers powerful insights into the art of asking good  questions, highlighted by hilarious and surprising anecdotes from Ryan’s  personal and professional life, as well as stories from politics, popular culture, and social movements throughout history. Engaging and inspiring, Wait, What? will change the way you look at yourself and the world, and, in the process, help you get what you want most out of life.

Buy it here: James E. Ryan’s Wait, What? http://amzn.to/2pt9VCJ


newsletter 4

With The Firm, financial journalist Duff McDonald pulled back the curtain on consulting giant McKinsey & Co. In The Golden Passport, he reveals the inner workings of a singular nexus of power, ambition, and influence: Harvard Business School (HBS).

Most people have a vague knowledge of the power of the HBS network, but few   understand the dynamics that have made HBS an indestructible and powerful force for almost a century. As McDonald explores those dynamics, he also reveals how, despite HBS’s enormous success, it has proven an equally enormous failure at the stated goal of its founders: ‘the multiplication of men who will handle their current business problems in socially constructive ways’. While HBS graduates tend to be very good at whatever they do, but that is rarely the doing of good.

Buy it here: Duff McDonald’s The Golden Passporthttp://amzn.to/2oSswoD


newsletter 6

The thrilling, shocking and romantic sequel to the bestselling YA debut Flawed is finally here.

Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured – all her freedoms gone. Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with the complicated, powerfully attractive Carrick, the only person she can trust. But Celestine has a secret – one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, Celestine must make a choice: save only herself, or risk her life to save all the Flawed. And, most important of all, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

Buy it here: Cecelia Ahern’s Perfecthttp://amzn.to/2poEFCz


newsletter 5

‘A superb, coruscating book’ —Literary Review

‘Startlingly incisive … refreshing guidance’ —New York Times

‘The beauty of Godfrey-Smith’s book lies in the clarity of his writing; his empathy, if you will. He takes us through those early stirrings in the seas of deep time, from bacteria that sense light and can taste, to cnidarian jellyfish, the first organisms to exhibit nervous systems, which he describes wonderfully.’ —Philip Hoare, Guardian

What if intelligent life on Earth evolved not once, but twice? The octopus is the closest we will come to meeting an intelligent alien. What can we learn from the encounter? In Other Minds: The Octopus and the Evolution of Intelligent Life, Peter Godfrey-Smith, a distinguished philosopher of science and a skilled scuba diver, tells a bold new story of how nature became aware of itself – a story that largely occurs in the ocean, where animals first appeared.

Buy it here: Peter Godfrey-Smith’s Other Minds: http://amzn.to/2poOzo1


newsletter 2

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward—and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.

Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential, and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

This book will appeal to the multitudes of awkward people, including millennials who Google how to shake someone’s hand, parents concerned for their creative but socially shy children, spouses trying to better understand their partners, mental health professionals examining interpersonal relationships, and to the millions who are ready to embrace their awkwardness with pride.

Buy it here: Ty Tashiro’s Awkwardhttp://amzn.to/2pb3Z0F


newsletterFor fans of Daniel Kahnemann, Malcolm Gladwell, Freakonomics, Predictably Irrational.

Acclaimed author Brian Christian and cognitive scientist Tom Griffiths show how the algorithms developed for computers can be applied from finding your spouse to finding a parking spot, from organizing your inbox to understanding the workings of memory. Where you have a dilemma, they have a rule, and each fascinating algorithm turns the wisdom of computer science into strategies for human living.

Buy it here: Brian Christian and Tom Griffith’s Algorithms to Live Byhttp://amzn.to/2oSAv53


newsletter 3

Ned Waddlesworth has always considered his world to be exceptionally ordinary. Until the day he discovers it ISN’T. AT ALL. Because on Ned’s thirteenth birthday he discovers that everything magical he’s ever read about or imagined is real. And without him, the world will soon be engulfed in monstrous beasts and beings. So with the help of a robot mouse, a girl witch and a flying circus unlike any other, it’s up to Ned to swoop in and save the day! Roll up and prepare to be amazed by Ned and the marvellous, magical, monstrous flying circus.

Buy it here: Justin Fisher’s Ned’s Circus of Marvels (Book One)http://amzn.to/2poWDVT


 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s