Books · Preview

#MothersDay: 12 Books That are Perfect Gifts for Moms Who Love Reading

1. The Namesake — Jhumpa Lahiri The Namesake takes the Ganguli family from their tradition-bound life in Calcutta through their fraught transformation into Americans. On the heels of their arranged wedding, Ashoke and Ashima Ganguli settle together in Cambridge, Massachusetts. An engineer by training, Ashoke adapts far less warily than his wife, who resists all…… Continue reading #MothersDay: 12 Books That are Perfect Gifts for Moms Who Love Reading

Books · International · Preview

April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

The Case for Impeachment offers a fascinating look at presidential impeachments throughout American history, including the often-overlooked story of Andrew Johnson’s impeachment, details about Richard Nixon’s resignation, and Bill Clinton’s hearings. Lichtman shows how US President Donald Trump exhibits many of the flaws (and more) that have doomed past presidents. As the Nixon Administration dismissed the…… Continue reading April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

Books · Longreads

Finding Christopher Tucker: The Man Who Made the Ramsay Horror Masks

In the 1970s and ’80s – a period of churn in Hindi films, when commercial cinema was at its Amitabh Bachchan-fuelled peak and art-house movies were truly pushing the envelope – the Ramsay brothers burst on to the scene with their horror film-making spree. They were subaltern films (of a sort), yes. Disruptive too. The…… Continue reading Finding Christopher Tucker: The Man Who Made the Ramsay Horror Masks

Books · Preview

April Picks: Our Top Five Indian New Releases

Eat. Delete. Junior.  To mitigate the general furore and misunderstanding surrounding child nutrition comes this important new book from Pooja Makhija, the bestselling author of Eat Delete. The junior edition is a guide that will help parents emerge victorious over the ultimate child-rearing battleground: the dinner table. How does a child’s palate develop? What happens if…… Continue reading April Picks: Our Top Five Indian New Releases

Books · International · Longreads

The Science of Why We’re Socially Awkward and Why That’s Awesome

Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it’s like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn’t pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward,…… Continue reading The Science of Why We’re Socially Awkward and Why That’s Awesome

Books · Longreads · Preview

‘My genetic coding is that of a storyteller’: Kiran Nagarkar

Kiran Nagarkar If I had thought like a sensible person for two minutes, that’s right, just two minutes, Saat Sakkam Trechalis would never have been written. Whatever happened was because of an absence of thought. To write a novel, and that too in Marathi … surely I would have realized that this was completely beyond…… Continue reading ‘My genetic coding is that of a storyteller’: Kiran Nagarkar

Books · Preview

Preview: Our Best Indian New Releases This Month

Orientalism Two: A Study of British Rule over India from A Saidian Perspective Edward Said’s Orientalism (1978) is a seminal work in the field of postcolonial culture studies. It critiqued Western scholarship about the Eastern world for its patronizing attitude and tendency to view it as exotic, backward and uncivilized. Arvind Sharma, longstanding professor of…… Continue reading Preview: Our Best Indian New Releases This Month

Books · International · Preview

Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting—perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies—Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. By the end of the book—a…… Continue reading Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · International

The Best of Chimamanda Adichie’s Quotes on Feminism

This month, we publish Chimamanda Adichie’s Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, a remarkable new book where she goes right into the heart of the sexual politics in the twenty-first century. To celebrate the occasion, we bring you some of Chimamanda’s most brilliant quotes that have appeared in her books and been…… Continue reading The Best of Chimamanda Adichie’s Quotes on Feminism

Books · International

Ten Feminist Books to Add to Your Bookshelf

The Liberation of Sita | Volga Valmiki’s Ramayana is the story of Rama’s exile and return to Ayodhya, a triumphant king who will always do right by his subjects. In Volga’s retelling, it is Sita who, after being abandoned by Purushottam Rama, embarks on an arduous journey to self-realization. Along the way, she meets extraordinary…… Continue reading Ten Feminist Books to Add to Your Bookshelf