Book Excerpts · International · Preview

Excerpt: How Science Gave Us The Wrong Impression About Women

From intelligence to emotion, for centuries science has told us that men and women are fundamentally different. But this is not the whole story. In her new book, Inferior, award-winning science journalist and author Angela Saini sheds light on controversial research and investigates the ferocious gender wars in biology, psychology and anthropology, while taking readers…… Continue reading Excerpt: How Science Gave Us The Wrong Impression About Women

Books · International · Preview

Our Pick of the Best Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction This Month

How can you have a future if you can’t accept your past? Mel Hannigan doesn’t have it easy. Mourning the death of her firework of a brother, facing the loss of three friendships that used to mean everything to her and struggling to deal with a condition that even her closest friends don’t know about.…… Continue reading Our Pick of the Best Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction This Month

Book Excerpts · International

Why Everything You Know About Success is (Mostly) Wrong

What really produces success? By looking at the science behind what separates the extremely successful from the rest of us, we learn what we can do to be more like them — and find out in some cases why it’s good that we aren’t. Two men have died trying to do this. Outside Magazine declared…… Continue reading Why Everything You Know About Success is (Mostly) Wrong

Books · International · Preview

April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

The Case for Impeachment offers a fascinating look at presidential impeachments throughout American history, including the often-overlooked story of Andrew Johnson’s impeachment, details about Richard Nixon’s resignation, and Bill Clinton’s hearings. Lichtman shows how US President Donald Trump exhibits many of the flaws (and more) that have doomed past presidents. As the Nixon Administration dismissed the…… Continue reading April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

Books · International · Longreads

The Science of Why We’re Socially Awkward and Why That’s Awesome

Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it’s like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn’t pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward,…… Continue reading The Science of Why We’re Socially Awkward and Why That’s Awesome

Book Excerpts · International · Longreads

A New Book Dives Deep into The Life of Ernest Hemingway, The Spy

Nicholas Reynolds In 2010 I was the historian for ‘The Best Museum You’ve Never Seen’, the CIA Museum, which winds through the corridors of an Eisenhower-era building secluded on a secure campus in Northern Virginia. We were getting ready to install a new exhibit on the Office of Strategic Services (OSS), America’s first central-intelligence agency,…… Continue reading A New Book Dives Deep into The Life of Ernest Hemingway, The Spy

Books · International · Preview

Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting—perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies—Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. By the end of the book—a…… Continue reading Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · International

The Best of Chimamanda Adichie’s Quotes on Feminism

This month, we publish Chimamanda Adichie’s Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, a remarkable new book where she goes right into the heart of the sexual politics in the twenty-first century. To celebrate the occasion, we bring you some of Chimamanda’s most brilliant quotes that have appeared in her books and been…… Continue reading The Best of Chimamanda Adichie’s Quotes on Feminism

Books · International

Ten Feminist Books to Add to Your Bookshelf

The Liberation of Sita | Volga Valmiki’s Ramayana is the story of Rama’s exile and return to Ayodhya, a triumphant king who will always do right by his subjects. In Volga’s retelling, it is Sita who, after being abandoned by Purushottam Rama, embarks on an arduous journey to self-realization. Along the way, she meets extraordinary…… Continue reading Ten Feminist Books to Add to Your Bookshelf