Books · International · Preview

April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

The Case for Impeachment offers a fascinating look at presidential impeachments throughout American history, including the often-overlooked story of Andrew Johnson’s impeachment, details about Richard Nixon’s resignation, and Bill Clinton’s hearings. Lichtman shows how US President Donald Trump exhibits many of the flaws (and more) that have doomed past presidents. As the Nixon Administration dismissed the…… Continue reading April Picks: The Best of Foreign Fiction & Non-fiction

Books · Preview

April Picks: Our Top Five Indian New Releases

Eat. Delete. Junior.  To mitigate the general furore and misunderstanding surrounding child nutrition comes this important new book from Pooja Makhija, the bestselling author of Eat Delete. The junior edition is a guide that will help parents emerge victorious over the ultimate child-rearing battleground: the dinner table. How does a child’s palate develop? What happens if…… Continue reading April Picks: Our Top Five Indian New Releases

Book Excerpts · Preview

Sorry, You Can’t Fight Fat by Dieting

Body nirvana is a state where your waist size does not define your worth. Believe it or not, but shame, anger, helplessness, loneliness or traumas can act as tiny brakes and make weight loss difficult. In her new book The Body Nirvana: More Than Just A Weight Loss Book, author and psychologist Garima Gupta urges readers to remember…… Continue reading Sorry, You Can’t Fight Fat by Dieting

Books · Longreads · Preview

‘My genetic coding is that of a storyteller’: Kiran Nagarkar

Kiran Nagarkar If I had thought like a sensible person for two minutes, that’s right, just two minutes, Saat Sakkam Trechalis would never have been written. Whatever happened was because of an absence of thought. To write a novel, and that too in Marathi … surely I would have realized that this was completely beyond…… Continue reading ‘My genetic coding is that of a storyteller’: Kiran Nagarkar

Books · Preview

Preview: Our Best Indian New Releases This Month

Orientalism Two: A Study of British Rule over India from A Saidian Perspective Edward Said’s Orientalism (1978) is a seminal work in the field of postcolonial culture studies. It critiqued Western scholarship about the Eastern world for its patronizing attitude and tendency to view it as exotic, backward and uncivilized. Arvind Sharma, longstanding professor of…… Continue reading Preview: Our Best Indian New Releases This Month

Books · International · Preview

Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting—perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies—Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. By the end of the book—a…… Continue reading Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · Preview

February: Check Out Our Best in Indian Fiction and Non-fiction

What makes a nation great? Is it simply economic prosperity and military strength – or something more? It is only a matter of time before India is termed economically developed. But a nation has to learn to survive in tough times too. And for that what is most important is national character, born out of…… Continue reading February: Check Out Our Best in Indian Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · International · Preview

Preview | The Best in Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Before I Fall is a perennial bestseller and continues to be on several young-adult ‘best book’ lists. The film adaptation of the story, directed by Ry Russo-Young and starring several popular teen actors, will be released in early 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5hIJsdIQCc The protagonist, Samantha Kingston, has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should…… Continue reading Preview | The Best in Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · Preview

January Picks: Five New Books by Indian Writers You Need to Read

Attendant Lords | T.C.A. Raghavan Bairam Khan and his son, Abdur Rahim Khan-i-Khanan were soldiers, poets and courtiers whose lives reflected the turbulent times they lived in. In telling their stories, Attendant Lords spans the reigns of four emperors—Babur, Humayun, Akbar and Jahangir—and covers over a hundred years of Mughal history, a time when these…… Continue reading January Picks: Five New Books by Indian Writers You Need to Read

Books · International · Preview · Uncategorized

International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7yKLHjuf2c Available here: http://amzn.to/2jaJBeK Mark Manson makes the argument, backed both by academic research and well-timed poop jokes, that improving our lives hinges not on our ability to turn lemons into lemonade, but on learning to stomach…… Continue reading International Picks: Our Big Releases in January