Books · International · Preview · Uncategorized

International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7yKLHjuf2c Available here: http://amzn.to/2jaJBeK Mark Manson makes the argument, backed both by academic research and well-timed poop jokes, that improving our lives hinges not on our ability to turn lemons into lemonade, but on learning to stomach…… Continue reading International Picks: Our Big Releases in January

Uncategorized

Day Five: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

23 January, Monday 10-11 a.m. | Front Lawn | Indian Films and the National Narrative Rachel Dwyer, Imtiaz Ali, Javed Akhtar and Sudhir Mishra in conversation with Shubhra Gupta Indian cinema and Bollywood is a key cultural signifier reflecting the social, political and economic dynamics of a diverse country. A stimulating session that deconstructs the…… Continue reading Day Five: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day Four: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

22 January, Sunday 10-11 a.m. | Baithak | Channeling Creativity | Christopher Merrill, Karim Alrawi, Kyoko Yoshida, Natasa Duruvicova and Vivek Shanbhag in conversation with Chandrahas Choudhury Can creativity be primed? How is self-expression disciplined into meaningful writing? The International Writing Program at the University of Iowa is a much-celebrated creative writing residency. For more…… Continue reading Day Four: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day Three: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

21 January, Saturday 10-11 a.m. | Durbar Hall | The Tartan Turban: A Scots-American at Ranjit Singh’s Court | John Keay introduced by William Dalrymple Famously portrayed in 1864 dressed in a tartan suit with a splendid matching turban, Alexander Gardner was a 19th century Scots-American traveller, adventurer and mercenary who lived a life many…… Continue reading Day Three: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day Two: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

20 January, Friday 10-11 a.m. | Cox & Kings Charbagh | Suspected Poetry | Gulzar and Pavan K. Varma in conversation Two suspicious men reading suspected poetry. Gulzar and Pavan K. Varma in a session of readings and musings on poetry and the state of the world. 11.15-12.15 p.m. | Mughal Tent | The Heart Has…… Continue reading Day Two: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Uncategorized

Day One: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

19 January, Thursday 10 – 10.30 a.m. | Front Lawn | Keynote address | Gulzar and Anne Waldman Two extraordinary poets from India and the United States deliver the keynote through the medium of poetry. About Gulzar: He is one of India’s most respected scriptwriters and film directors, and has been one of the most popular lyricists…… Continue reading Day One: HarperCollins at Jaipur Litfest 2017

Authors · Books · Interviews · Uncategorized

Meet the Writer Who Travelled Across the World to Trace the Women of the Rani Jhansi Regiment

At a time when topics such as feminism and women’s empowerment are slowly permeating into public discussions and debates in mainstream media, it’s a sad reality that an incredible chapter about India’s women during the Indian independence movement is merely glossed over in history books prescribed by the country’s academia. Which is why Vera Hildebrand’s…… Continue reading Meet the Writer Who Travelled Across the World to Trace the Women of the Rani Jhansi Regiment

Books · Uncategorized

#2016: The Big Bestsellers at HarperCollins

Numbers matter. It’s the sales of a book that make it a bestseller. And we clocked several of those in 2016. From the acquisition of bestselling author Nikita Singh’s Like a Love Song to the publication of Booker prize-winning author Aravind Adiga’s critically acclaimed Selection Day, from Sania Mirza’s memoir Ace against Odds to Ready, Study, Go’s smart…… Continue reading #2016: The Big Bestsellers at HarperCollins