Editors' Desks

Staff Picks: The Best of Film, Books & TV

‘I am reading Bruce Chatwin’s Songlines these days and am loving it. Chatwin is an excellent writer—grafts theme to sentence so well. The subject of the book is the varied musical “routes” called songlines that criss-cross Australia and Chatwin’s learning about these routes. Each songline was sung by an Aboriginal elder and represent a particular…… Continue reading Staff Picks: The Best of Film, Books & TV

Books · Preview

Preview: Our Best Indian New Releases This Month

Orientalism Two: A Study of British Rule over India from A Saidian Perspective Edward Said’s Orientalism (1978) is a seminal work in the field of postcolonial culture studies. It critiqued Western scholarship about the Eastern world for its patronizing attitude and tendency to view it as exotic, backward and uncivilized. Arvind Sharma, longstanding professor of…… Continue reading Preview: Our Best Indian New Releases This Month

Book Excerpts · International · Longreads

A New Book Dives Deep into The Life of Ernest Hemingway, The Spy

Nicholas Reynolds In 2010 I was the historian for ‘The Best Museum You’ve Never Seen’, the CIA Museum, which winds through the corridors of an Eisenhower-era building secluded on a secure campus in Northern Virginia. We were getting ready to install a new exhibit on the Office of Strategic Services (OSS), America’s first central-intelligence agency,…… Continue reading A New Book Dives Deep into The Life of Ernest Hemingway, The Spy

Books · International · Preview

Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting—perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies—Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. By the end of the book—a…… Continue reading Here’s The Best of This Month’s Foreign Fiction and Non-fiction

Books · International

The Best of Chimamanda Adichie’s Quotes on Feminism

This month, we publish Chimamanda Adichie’s Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, a remarkable new book where she goes right into the heart of the sexual politics in the twenty-first century. To celebrate the occasion, we bring you some of Chimamanda’s most brilliant quotes that have appeared in her books and been…… Continue reading The Best of Chimamanda Adichie’s Quotes on Feminism

Books · International

Ten Feminist Books to Add to Your Bookshelf

The Liberation of Sita | Volga Valmiki’s Ramayana is the story of Rama’s exile and return to Ayodhya, a triumphant king who will always do right by his subjects. In Volga’s retelling, it is Sita who, after being abandoned by Purushottam Rama, embarks on an arduous journey to self-realization. Along the way, she meets extraordinary…… Continue reading Ten Feminist Books to Add to Your Bookshelf

Book Excerpts · Editors' Desks

An Editor Reflects on His Experience Working with Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

‘A great nation is one which, when faced with a grave challenge, rises to the occasion and brings out the best in itself. Its people work as one to become the master of the problem and defeat it. India has a lot to learn if it is to occupy the pride of place that rightfully…… Continue reading An Editor Reflects on His Experience Working with Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

Books · Preview

February: Check Out Our Best in Indian Fiction and Non-fiction

What makes a nation great? Is it simply economic prosperity and military strength – or something more? It is only a matter of time before India is termed economically developed. But a nation has to learn to survive in tough times too. And for that what is most important is national character, born out of…… Continue reading February: Check Out Our Best in Indian Fiction and Non-fiction

Asides · Editors' Desks · Video

Staff Picks: The Best of Books, Film & TV

‘Living the Dream: The Life of the ‘Bollywood’ Actor by New York-based actor-photographer Mark Bennington (who also played Deputy Commissioner Wilkie in Dibakar Banerjee’s Detective Byomkesh Bakshy) is a coffee table book every movie buff must have. It shows a range of actors—from strugglers to A-list celebs—behind the scenes, doing everyday things as they go…… Continue reading Staff Picks: The Best of Books, Film & TV